How do I use the cubitids option when exporting mesh?

Topics related to importing and exporting file formats, etc.

How do I use the cubitids option when exporting mesh?

Postby jackcronkite » Wed May 15, 2013 9:12 am

How do I use the cubitids option when I export mesh to an analysis file?
jackcronkite
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 3:18 pm

Re: How do I use the cubitids option when exporting mesh?

Postby csimsoft Moderator » Wed May 15, 2013 9:19 am

The answer to your question actually requires a little background in Trelis. Trelis stores every element type starting at ID 1. Hence, if you have multiple element types in your model you can have hex 1, tet 1, and quad 1. If you want to export using the cubitids you must manually renumber the overlapping elements and put them into separate numeric groups. Hexes start at ID 1, tets start at ID 10000, quads start at ID 50000. One way to do this to create a sequential numbering scheme would be to do something like the following:

brick x 10
mesh vol 1
block 1 volume 1
block 2 surface 1
block 2 element type shell
renumber face in surface 1 start_id {Id("hex")+1}
export abaqus 'myfile.inp' cubitids

The APREPRO statement in the last line will return the ID of the last hex that was created and start renumbering quads/faces at the id+1 value. Actually, this is the kind of thing that Trelis does automatically if you don't specify cubitids. If you want to use a predefined value just replace the statement {Id("hex")+1} with the fixed value.

The renumber command in the GUI is found under Mesh/Surface/Renumber or Mesh/Quad/Renumber and remember that you can enter APREPRO syntax in any input field in the GUI.

The advantage of using cubitids is that you guarantee that element 10000 will have the same number in Trelis as it does in your analysis deck and post-processor. If you need to track down a problem, it may be easier with fixed ID numbers instead of numbers that are just sequentially defined at export.

-- Karl
csimsoft
csimsoft Moderator
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 5:59 pm
Location: American Fork, UT

Re: How do I use the cubitids option when exporting mesh?

Postby csimsoft Support » Tue Dec 15, 2015 2:30 pm

Using the "cubitids" option will retain the Trelis node and element IDs in the mesh file. If more than one element shares the same ID in Trelis, the mesh export will fail and you will need to fix the model before exporting Trelis IDs. This can be done with the renumber command and incrementing the start_id.

The attached journal file will renumber the mesh entities types in sequential order and allows you to then use the "cubitids" option.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
csimsoft Support
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 5:22 pm


Return to Importing/Exporting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron

Search / Mark

User Control Panel

Login

Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 58 on Mon Jun 26, 2017 4:19 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests