Export mesh to ABAQUS and blocks show up under ABAQUS tree

Topics related to importing and exporting file formats, etc.

Export mesh to ABAQUS and blocks show up under ABAQUS tree

Postby Cubit User » Mon Jun 18, 2012 12:42 pm

I’m trying to export a mesh from CUBIT into ABAQUS. In order to conveniently assign a certain set of elements a section in ABAQUS, I would like to create blocks of elements in CUBIT, and be able to select these blocks in ABAQUS.

However, I am unable to select the blocks I created in CUBIT in the ABAQUS Section Assignment menu. I believe this is because the blocks I created in CUBIT show up in the assembly => sets of ABAQUS, and ABAQUS is looking in the part => sets menu.

My question is: Is there are a command in CUBIT that allows one to export the mesh into ABAQUS and have the blocks created show up in the Parts => Sets menu?
Cubit User
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 12:42 pm

Re: Export mesh to ABAQUS and blocks show up under ABAQUS tr

Postby csimsoft Moderator » Mon Jun 18, 2012 12:45 pm

Hello,

If you are using the command

export abaqus "file.inp" partial

to export to Abaqus, the keyword "partial" tells Cubit to export only nodes and elements (no blocks). Removing this keyword from the command will fix your issue.
csimsoft
csimsoft Moderator
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 5:59 pm
Location: American Fork, UT

Re: Export mesh to ABAQUS and blocks show up under ABAQUS tr

Postby Cubit User » Mon Jun 18, 2012 12:46 pm

That fixed the issue. Thanks.
Cubit User
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 12:42 pm


Return to Importing/Exporting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron

Search / Mark

User Control Panel

Login

Who is online

In total there are 0 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 0 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 58 on Mon Jun 26, 2017 4:19 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests