Add objects on a Frustum

Discussion about geometry. This forum is divided into two sub forums, creation and cleanup/defeaturing.

Add objects on a Frustum

Postby rupas » Sat Mar 22, 2014 3:11 am

When I try to move a cylinder on frustum along the z axis, it is not on the surface at the frustum( but small distance apart from the frustum) towards the tapered end of the frustum. How can I do this ?
rupas
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 2:52 am

Re: Add objects on a Frustum

Postby csimsoft Moderator » Tue Apr 22, 2014 10:54 am

A useful Trelis command is "measure between". This can be used to determine distances between entities. For example, how far to move a cylinder so that it will be exactly on top of a frustum:


reset
create Frustum height 10 radius 5 top 2
create Cylinder height 2 radius 2

#measure distance between the top of the frustum and the bottom of the cylinder
measure between surf 3 surf 5
#in this case the distance is 6

move Volume 2 z 6
csimsoft
csimsoft Moderator
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 5:59 pm
Location: American Fork, UT


Return to Geometry

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron

Search / Mark

User Control Panel

Login

Who is online

In total there are 0 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 0 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 58 on Mon Jun 26, 2017 4:19 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests